made-me-glad

Today we shared the stories and scriptures behind more of WNZR’s songs…

The song “Made Me Glad” was released in 2001 by Darlene Zschech and Hillsong Worship. It references Psalm 92: 1-4: It is good to praise the Lord and make music to your name, O Most High,proclaiming your love in the morning and your faithfulness at night, to the music of the ten-stringed lyre and the melody of the harp. For you make me glad by your deeds, Lord; I sing for joy at what your hands have done.

2 Samuel 22:2-3 also influenced the chorus of the song: The Lord is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge; my shield and the horn of my salvation. He is my stronghold, my refuge and my savior—from violent people you save me.

“Messengers” by Lecrae featuring For King and Country features these lyrics:

We’ve been given a call
Been forgiven, risen, we livin’ to give him our all
Rise up from your past it’s holding you down
This moment is all that matters the future is now
How will the people know if we don’t tell ’em if we fail ’em
They stumblin’ in the dark but the light is what we carry
Yea, don’t have to wonder your purpose or what you here for
Reflect his image and show the world what he cares for

That reminds me of Matthew 5, from the Sermon on the Mount: You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden.15 Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. 16 In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.

TobyMac’s new song, “Love Broke Thru,” reminds us of the promises of Psalm 139:

SONG: I did all that I could to undo me
But You loved me enough to pursue me
Yeah, You drew me out of the shadows
Made me believe that I mattered, to You (You)

PSALM 139: Where can I go from your Spirit? Where can I flee from your presence?
If I go up to the heavens, you are thereif I make my bed in the depths, you are there.
If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast.

Our Word of the Day is ellicit, a verb meaning to evoke or draw out (a response, answer, or fact) from someone in reaction to one’s own actions or questions.

Thanks for listening!

-Joe

