I’ve been known to make this statement quite frequently- “we’ve made life too complicated.”  But I’m finding myself saying it more and more as I get older.  I have these moments where honestly, I just crave simplicity.  Like watching a sunset…taking a nap…staring out the window at a thunderstorm…or sitting in the dark with a cup of hot chocolate watching the lights twinkle on a Christmas tree.   I love simplicity.  I think our bodies and even our minds need it.  I know mine does.

Let’s face it…we could use a little more simplicity at Christmas.  And you know what?  The message of Christmas isn’t really that complicated.  So, to borrow from “The Christmas Song,” I’m offering my own simple phrase this year- He came to save us. 

Matthew 1:21 tells us that the angel told Joseph to give Mary’s child the name Jesus, because he would save his people from their sins.  We’ve read that passage time and time again, but do we really get how significant that name really is?  Jesus means to deliver or rescue.  He came down to deliver and rescue us.  I know that I have many days where I need delivered and rescued. 

So this Christmas, remember the simple fact that he came to save us…and renew your acceptance of his salvation!

-Joe

